Dance team is state champion


“We all get along and we all understand each other’s strengths and weaknesses. We are like a family,” senior Paulina Coursey said after her Notre Dame Dance Team again won two state championships at the Iowa State Dance Championships in Des Moines.

Early this month, the team won in Class I Pom Division and Class I Hip-Hop Division. The team also won the Judges Choice Award, given only to three routines out of 283 competitive teams.

The team also was awarded the Distinguished Academic Award thanks to members’ average GPA of over 3.5.

Dance team members are Coursey, Kaitlyn Dirth, Rachel Hackenmiller, Gracie Deery, Karissa Alfred, Katy Kirk, Abbie Stewart, Erin Schilling, MaryKate Brueck, Sarah Kottenstette, Maddie Zahn, Abby Meekins, Lauren Ewinger, Lexi Orth and Abby Jackson. The team is coached by Teresa Brueck and Sue Schilling.


Support The Catholic Messenger’s mission to inform, educate and inspire the faithful of the Diocese of Davenport – and beyond! Subscribe to the print and/or e-edition, or make a one-time donation, today!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Posted on