Scholarship recipients announced



Eleven students in the Diocese of Davenport received scholarships through the Marguerite Ritzinger Scholarship.

The students receiving scholarships for the upcoming fall semester are Carson Abrahamson of Oskaloosa, Alexis Jirak of Keosauqua, Sophia Kersent of Bettendorf, Emma Kizer of DeWitt, Grace Dupuis of Burlington, Nathaniel Lamansky of Brighton, Michael Tallman of Davenport, Claire Hackenviller of Burlington, Kaylin McNeal of Bettendorf, Kaley Iddings of Pleasantville and Osmin Melendez of Washington.

The award is named for the late Marguerite Ritzinger, a Sigourney native, who left money to the diocese to help with scholarships for seminarians and students attending colleges or universities. The scholarship program began in 2009.

Sixty-one students applied for this year’s scholarships. A committee reviewed essays, high school or college transcripts and reference letters in addition to the application form, said Ana Shambaugh of the scholarship committee. “They were all excellent.”


Support The Catholic Messenger’s mission to inform, educate and inspire the faithful of the Diocese of Davenport – and beyond! Subscribe to the print and/or e-edition, or make a one-time donation, today!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Posted on