Disaster assistance registration deadline approaches


Iowa residents in the nine disaster-designated counties —Fremont, Harrison, Louisa, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, Scott, Shelby and Woodbury— may be eligible for federal assistance if they were impacted by the severe storms and flooding from March 12 through May 16.  The registration cutoff date is July 1.

Disaster survivors who register for assistance with FEMA may be eligible for grants to help pay for renting a place to live until their primary residence can be repaired, to pay for minor structural repairs, to replace essential personal property and/or to pay for disaster-related medical or dental needs not covered by insurance.

To register with FEMA:

  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. Multilingual operators are on duty.
  • Use FEMA’s disaster app on your smartphone. If you haven’t downloaded the app yet, you can go to fema.gov/mobile-app.
  • Go to disasterassistance.gov.

Support The Catholic Messenger’s mission to inform, educate and inspire the faithful of the Diocese of Davenport – and beyond! Subscribe to the print and/or e-edition, or make a one-time donation, today!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Posted on