McMullen awards will honor three


DAVENPORT — St. Ambrose University will celebrate its patron saint during the Advent Mass on Dec. 6 at 10:30 a.m. in Christ the King Chapel. During Mass the McMullen Award, named in honor of St. Ambrose founder Bishop John McMullen, will be presented to three individuals who embody the university’s mission of enriching the lives of others. The public is invited to attend the Mass; a reception will follow.

Recipients of the 2015 McMullen Awards are James and Karen Collins, and Msgr. John Hyland.
James and Karen Collins

A 1969 graduate, Trustee Emeritus Jim Collins has always been actively engaged in developing the vision and core values of St. Ambrose University — as a St. Ambrose student, member of the Board of Trustees (1998-2010) and enthusiastic alumnus.

Over the past 10 years, Collins and his wife, Karen, have also provided vision, initiative and support for the university’s enhancement of its Diversity Core Value, and have engaged other alumni and community members to enhance diversity efforts on campus. The Collins’ are founding contributors to the Freeman Pollard Endowment Fund, named in honor of the first African-American professor at St. Ambrose. Their tireless work toward full endowment of the scholarship fund will mean that vital assistance, in the form of scholarships, is provided to minority students for generations to come, the university said.


A 1964 alumnus, Msgr. John Hyland has served on the university’s Board of Trustees since 1998. During his tenure as vice chair of the board, Msgr. Hyland has been instrumental in the university’s substantial growth, including the addition of the Rogalski Center, the renovation of Christ the King Chapel and construction of multiple academic and residence buildings. Currently serving as clergy co-chair for the Building our Future capital campaign, Msgr. Hyland is encouraging others to follow his example of personal philanthropy in support of a new wellness and recreational facility.

Throughout his many years of service as vicar general for the Diocese of Davenport, Msgr. Hyland has modeled wisdom and pastoral care for others in every aspect of his ministry, the university said.

“Msgr. Hyland and Karen and Jim Collins embody the commitment to St. Ambrose and its current and future students, which this distinguished award is intended to honor,” said Sister Joan Lescinski, CSJ, president of St. Ambrose. “We are pleased to welcome them to this honor roll of valued Ambrosians.”

Support The Catholic Messenger’s mission to inform, educate and inspire the faithful of the Diocese of Davenport – and beyond! Subscribe to the print and/or e-edition, or make a one-time donation, today!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Posted on